Recently, I bought a Microsoft Wireless Intellimouse 2.0 for myself and my friend. She thinks it’s the greatest thing to happen to her ever and she uses it with her Mac.

Before using it daily, my main concern with buying a wireless mouse was the weight. I was worried that the added weight would create extra strain on my wrist, or just make the mouse less accurate. That’s not been the case. The form of the MS Wireless Mouse is really quite reasonable and compensates for the weight. The mouse fits better in the hand than the original wired Intellimouse. This second generation of MS Wireless Mouse sends data much more quickly than previous versions. Supposedly, this makes accuracy less of an issue than previous versions.

I only notice a lack of responsiveness when the receiver is either too far away or blocked, often by my metal Thermos. I notice this when I use the mouse to click on something and the click doesn’t register. The Intellimouse, like alot of similar devices uses RFID (radio frequency identification) to transmit data. RFID is the same technology used by large companies to track warehouse inventory and the like. Mice that use Bluetooth to communicate would not likely experience such problems. However, Bluetooth mice typically cost more.

MS Intellimouse has two programmable buttons on the left, set back just a little too far for my tastes. I am much more used to the design on the older models with buttons on either side.

Microsoft also has the Laser Mouse 6000 to match Logitech’s MX 1000. I was happy to get my mouse on sale, but I had considered these options and thought that the added accuracy might be worth it. I’m not convinced that the $20+ premium for these devices would be worth it.

All in all, it’s a nice little device. Sure, the signal could be stronger. And the buttons I can get used to. But I like the wireless technology. It’s a more enjoyable than I thought it would be.

