Legacy Applications are the bane of my existence. Dare I say every IT Admin has some legacy applications (nay, Legacyware!) that is lurking in their domain.

Legacyware sucks. Whether it's the DOS-based Fidelio, old HSI, Windows 95, Windows 98, or Windows NT Server, and Mac OS 8 & 9, or some crappy software package that uses Access as its database.

I wish I could throw unleash all these apps on my worst enemies and watch their productivity grind to a screeching halt.

One of my computers running legacyware just went down, rebooting itself over and over again. Fortunately, I had one left, but I still had to connect it to the legacyware domain that lingers like an orphan, a hideous reminder of our inability to move forward. And then I had to set up the "local security" settings in the legacyware that compliment/conflict with the application settings.

Legacyware suffers from a complete and utter inability to make any sense at all. And the part that is really annoying, and the utter essence of legacyware, is its absolute requirement that virtually everything, from installation to configuration, be done locally — to then be repeated again and again and again at workstation after workstation. (I believe all of the aforementioned packages pretty much fit that description.)

Hell is old software.

