Admittedly, the Language Toolbar has its uses. I recognize that. And I have even enjoyed the feature. A couple of times I have owned German and Swiss keyboards and while working on them, I had difficulty finding certain characters. Using the Language Toolbar to switch back and forth was quite convenient.

However, now, all of my users have an English keyboard and the language toolbar keeps appearing each time the computer is turned on. It’s an annoyance. Some might say it’s an asthetic point, I know.

Nevertheless, in Windows XP how does one disable the Language Toolbar, permanently?

1. In the Control Panel (under the classic view) click on Regional and Language Options.
2. Under the Languages tab, click on Details.
3. Click on the Details button.
4. Next, click on the Language Bar button and remove the check next to Show Language Bar.
5. Click Ok.

disablelanguagebar.jpg

