At the beginning of this World Cup I was wishing like a college-age anglophile that I were British. The Beeb, you see, is offering inhabitants of the island the right to watch the beautiful game via the web. How cool is that, I thought.

Then around a week or so ago, I discovered, for myself, the Joga companion and, subsequently, FootieFox. These are fine and great tools, but not enough to satisfy a quadrennial exprience, particularly when the Brit's were enjoying real-time streaming video.

Being a curious and mischevious fellow, I tried using Tor and its onion-skin servers to get a british IP address  so that I might be able to link to the BBC servers. But, I couldn't reliably get a good IP address. Nor could I find a decent anonymous proxy server.

I was out of luck.

Until my sister mentioned that it's possible for we in the 50 states to watch the World Cup online. She sent a link that was basically a back door to some feed. I simply had to slightly alter the address, in a predictable manner, for each game.

Since I learned this between matches Tuesday, I googled "Watch World Cup online" and found PC Magazine's article that mentions ESPN360. I went to the ESPN360 site and noticed Verizon users have access to the games. I logged in and watched the Brazil game from my computer. Fan-tast-ic! 

Now, the PCMag article suggests that all visitors can watch on ESPN360. Unfortunately, I can't say that I've checked that out, since I've selfishly been watching every minute I can. . ..

(btw, Internet Explorer 7 beta doesn't seem to be able to handle the ESPN360 feed. The feed can run on Firefox and IE 6. in IE6, viewers can double the size of the screen.) 

