I recently purchased the Antec NSK 3300 case for my computer. The case was not in my local computer store, so I ordered it, having only read the descriptions online. I was a little nervous, since I could not find a single review, but given what I knew of Antec, I decided it was a safe bet.

Antec NSK 3300

Originally, I had been looking at the Antec Sonata II. The Antec Sonata II is a quiet, sleek box that I thought would look perfect. But, once I realized I was on a budget and would be unable to salvage much of the Dell Dimension I had hoped to transfer from, I started looking at MicroAtx boards and cases that hold them.

[n.b. I am so frigging pissed at Dell for the choice of case design they held onto for years. Having to lay the computer on its side, press two buttons and swing up one side of the case, is a ridiculous design. Moreover, I've seen a fair share of these cases that simply won't completely shut if they are frequently opened and closed.]

I am not a gamer. I have played a game or two and will again soon, but playing a game is more of a treat than it is a nightly, weekly or even monthly event.

Thus, when I was looking at PC cases, I was not interested in a lot of expandability. In the end, my choices came down to Lian Li and Antec and I chose the Antec NSK 3300 because it came with its own power supply and thus fit my budget, which was tight. In the process of looking at cases, I learned two acronyms that, perhaps, home PC users are more likely to be familiar with than IT professionals. [Frankly, I don't generally spend a lot of time on my home computing system. When I am away from work, I like to be away from such things. . .. ]:
SFF -> Small Form Factor
HTPC -> Home Theater Personal Computer

After getting the case, I popped in a motherboard (MSI K8NGM2-FID) and set it up. I have been using it for a couple of weeks now. And the other day, I found this excellent review of it. I can't say much more about it or take many more pictures than what the SFFClub has.The Antec NSK 3300 is a great case, particularly if you are looking to build your first PC. The documentation that comes with the case is extensive and I never was in doubt as to what I needed to do to put it together. Unlike the reviewer, I don't have any problems with the lack of a motherboard tray. I am sure it would make it easier, but I wasn't particularly bothered. I can count the number of times I have removed my motherboards on one hand.

I installed my hard drive up top, which Antec recommends for heat considerations. Doing so, however, meant that I had to run an IDE cable up through the opening between the two chambers. Fitting cable through the opening wasn't too bad, but then getting the cable connected to the hard drive, which I had already screwed down, took a little patience. Those with SATA drives wouldn't have this trouble, caused by the angle of the cable to the drive, but would likely still have to deal with feeding the IDE cable up to an optical drive above.

I would like to swap out the stock AMD heat sink, for noise reasons, but I've not yet done so. The review mentions how big of a heat sink can be stuck in the case, which is frankly invaluable information for people looking to buy this case. Noise isn't a big factor in the case and neither is heat. With just the 120mm fan and using on board graphics, my CPU is regularly running around 33 degrees centigrade under normal use.

