First of all, on the WinFS blog there is an update to the update on WINFS’s demise.

You may have noticed that storage has become a commodity over the past decade or so and that we’re all creating more and more data these days, taking photos, video blogging, etc. How nice and necessary for Windows users to have something that bound all that stuff together so that it could be quickly searched everyone is seeming to be saying.

But the Desktop Search and the Web have killed WinFS, as Robert Scoble wrote. Better algorithms and connectivity solved the problem that was going to be solved by a database.

WinFS also apparently suffered from scope creep.

So, what now for these people wanting more of their stuff easily found and retrieved?

Look, if I could log on to Google on my handheld and I had the option to do a desktop search of the computer I have online, using peer-to-peer, or the online storage where my files resort, I can find everything I’ve worked on and, if I’m using the right software, I should even be able to open up the file.

And with relatively accurate audio/video search and image search, using recognition algorithms, or, if need be metadata, users should have all the capabilities that WinFS would have provided.

So, on that end, who really could care less if WinFS is dead? Other than losing a neat gimmick that would have eaten up a lot of processing power.
[Ok. Some developers might cry that they had plans for WinFS…This may be evidence of a disconnect ‘twixt them and MSFT.]

Which brings me to another thought…regarding system requirements and Microsoft. But, that’s for tomorrow.

