I’m massively disappointed in .Mac Mail’s lack of anti-spam tools. I primarily utilize the website and over the last few months I have seen a huge increase in the amount of spam in the account I use. I’ve noticed on your .Mac discussion boards there are numerous and voiciferous complaints regarding the increased rate of spam in .Mac accounts.

As a systems administrator, I am very mindful of avoiding spam and know how best to avoid spam. I have been a .Mac member since it was free. Now, I understand that it is foolish to pay $99 for the right to have a year’s worth of email, a website, and an iDisk account, when I could get more robust versions of most of this stuff for free somewhere else. It is particularly for me to pay for this since I don’t use a Mac much anymore. I support Macs some, but they’re no longer my bread and butter. Still, I have been a long-time user of your products and I enjoy having the same address and being associated with Apple in some way.
If there is not some work done to address this, I will think twice before renewing my subscription. I think there are others out there who would agree, after some of these complaints on your discussion boards are the kinds of things one has been able to find on Dell customer service discussion boards for some time now. And that part of their business isn’t going so well, now, is it?

I recognize that .Mac represents these days just a tiny portion of your overall revenue stream. It’s not sexy like iTunes or the iPod. Or at least it isn’t anymore. .Mac is becoming more and more like my old ’93 Honda Accord. Useful, but definitely showing its age.

Of course, .Mac isn’t a ’93 Honda Accord, it was, at least, an initial cornerstone to the whole Mac lifestyle idea you had envisioned. Now, Mr. Jobs, might I respectfully suggest, some upkeep be performed on .Mac.

Thank you for your time.

Yours, for now,

Jon Strand

