So, this morning Aug 10, 2006, I opened a “dispute” on PayPa at about 8:30 am, which amounts to sending the seller an email of limited length telling what you think is wrong and what you want done.

Reviewing the interactions so far, and the seller’s inability to send anything at all, I concluded with:

At this point, I would like my payment returned. I will follow this dispute through the channels provided by eBay and PayPal. From there, I will pursue other options including, but by no means limited to, Small Claims Court, and other legal instruments and codes governing interstate commerce and contracts.

Low and behold, less than two hours later the seller emailed me.

Aug 10, 2006 10:15 AM: Sorry he wrote. My internet has been down, the bike will show up on UPS today. Call me after 5 pm today.

I wrote back quickly that it was cool. I would call him. (This was probably dumb and accomodating, since he had my money. But, what can I say? I’m a nice guy.)
Aug 10, 2006 10:39 AM: Seller apologizes again and offers to refund my shipping money.

I said, I don’t care about the shipping money. Let’s just get the bike in the mail or all of my money back.

It’s now, 3:46 pm and the bike has not yet shown up in UPS. We’ll see.

